17th July 2010

Holy Cross School, Tadong today hosted All Roman Catholic Educational Institutions of Sikkim (ARCEIS) Inter School Debate and Elocution competition in the school auditorium. The programme started with the welcome speech by the principal of the school, Sr. Jessy Mathew, where she welcomed all the guests, students and teachers from the participating schools. The chief guest for the event was Mrs. Sobha Mukhia, who has completed her 25 years in the school alongwith the existence of the school. It is to inform that Holy Cross School is also celebrating its Silver Jubilee this year. The other guest present in the programme were Fr. Paul D’Souza,Principal, St. Joseph School, Rhenock, Sr. Emelia Dias, Principal, Ivana Memorial School, Rangpo, Sr. Clotilda, Manager, Holy Cross School, Tadong; and escort teachers of the participating schools. The today’s programme was divided into a Debate competition among the students of Classes VI-X with a bold topic – “Sex Education is desirable/undesirable in school”. All the participating students seemed to be very much concerned about the topic and presented their topic very interestingly. The competition was pretty close between Younita Pandey of Holy Cross School and Softya Sebastian of Namchi Publich School where the former received the first position and later the second position. Thupden Bhutia of St. Joseph School, Martam stood third in the competition. Younita Pandey of Holy Cross School and Premith Lepcha of St. Joseph School, Martam were adjudged the best speakers for “For and Against the Motion” respectively. Mrs. Ranju Pradhan and Mrs. Sangita Chettri, both PGT (English) teachers of Tadong SSS and Rumtek SSS respectively were the judges for the programme.

In the Elocution competition which was held for the students of Classes III-V saw the little kids of all the 8 participating schools presenting their poems with great enthusiasm and clarity. Mrs. Chaitaly Chettri and Mrs. Urmila Chettri, both the ex-teachers of the school were the judges for the elocution competition. Miss Achira Roy Choudhari of Ivana Memorial School, Rangpo bagged the first position followed by Ritik Kumar Das of Holy Cross School in the second position. The third position was shared by Smriti Subba and Shrishti Pradhan of Holy Cross School, Tadong and St. Thomas School, Gangtok respectively.

Mrs. Sobha Mukhia and Sr. Emelia Dias gave away the trophies and certificates to the winners of Debate and Elocution competition respectively. The Principal of the host school also presented souvenir to all the judges and the guest present in the programme.

Mrs. Sanjukta Gupta proposed vote of thanks.